Part 1: Looking for a stone – found the God


I am Dil Maya BK. I am 32 years old. My permanent residence is in the Sarlahi district which is the southern part of Nepal. We came to Kathmandu 10 years ago, with the hope that we will get a good job. I have a daughter that is 5 years old. She is going to School at UKG. My husband is working at a sculpture-making factory. 

One day my friend informed me about the WAWCAS program. I was so much excited and thinking a lot.  I was so curious to know about the program. I heard that the next day there was a meeting at 11 am. Next day I could not wait, so I went to the meeting place early at 10.30 am. Thank god our trainer Keshav was already there and a few other friends were also there. I was so happy when Keshav informed me about the objective of the program. I was so impressed with him when he said that as long as women are not able to sustain themselves then social and economical development of the society and country is not possible. I was so touched when Keshav said that the core function of the WAWCAS (Women at Work, Children at School) program is to empower and motivate needy and underprivileged women for social change and economic independence through business development and capacity building. I feel that the program is very good and I wanted to be involved in the WAWCAS group as quickly as possible. To me, it is like I was looking for a stone but found God. I wanted to do something but could not get any opportunity. Therefore, I asked when I could start my business and Keshav smiled and replied that it will take 2-3 months period to start the business. 

After the meeting Keshav asked for a meeting at my home. I was bit nervous and uncomfortable because I live in a very small room made by CGI sheet, again Keshav reminded me that the program is designed for needy women. Keshav sat on the floor and very comfortably he asked many questions. We discussed openly. I was dreaming to start up my business. Keshav also informed me that my story will be posted on a website. I don’t understand what a website is, but I am happy inside that my dream will come through soon. 

Dear Readers, 

Hi, I am Keshav Adhikari. I have been working as a LPL (trainer) in the WAWCAS program since 2011. I started in Lamjung district and since 2018 I am working in Kathmandu in Lalitpur district. I am so glad that I am writing the blog on behalf of Dil Maya showing her ups and downs and experiences for the coming 16 months. For that Dil Maya has already committed to give time for me hence I would like to thank her.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *